Music Well – Dosia McKay, Composer, Painter, Writer

Reflections on Art and Life

New Music for Vibraphone and String Quartet

Vibraphone
My new piece for vibraphone and string quartet is taking shape. I don’t remember when was the last time I put so much joy and vibrant color into a composition. It’s a fast paced, virtuoso piece with a touch of jazz and pop, a kaleidoscope of rich harmonies. I have a title for it, but I’m not sharing it yet!

I just remembered, my first instrument was a cross between a vibraphone and orchestral bells, a small children’s instrument, maybe two octaves in length, but well built and perfectly in tune. I didn’t know how to read music then, but I played on it all the melodies I heard on the radio and TV. Ear training 101.

4 comments on “New Music for Vibraphone and String Quartet

  1. t h i n g s + f l e s h
    April 17, 2013

    i’m happy to read this, Dosia, and encounter a composer who writes so eloquently about her work and life. tony

  2. t h i n g s + f l e s h
    April 23, 2013

    please write some more soon, please? tony

What do you think?

Follow Music Well – Dosia McKay, Composer, Painter, Writer on WordPress.com