Music Well – Dosia McKay, Composer, Painter, Writer

Reflections on Art and Life

I Used To Know Everything

Seeing is BelievingI used to know everything, some 20 years ago. I wish I could talk to my younger self today so I could gain clarity and perspective on my present life. I had all the answers then and life was full of Yes or No choices. Now I experiment with sound and color, change my mind, improvise, adjust, observe, and listen. I used to think that life had one single trajectory. Now I see that there are branches, streamlets, knots, and U-turns.

In the past I would have never put pink and orange side by side, but now I think, what the heck, I need a clash, a dissonance. And boom! I love the result and I want to do it again. Just to spite my younger self.

“Seeing is Believing”, acrylics and ink on stretched canvas, 24 x 36 x 0.75 in (60 x 91 x 2 cm). http://www.dosiamckay.com/art/artwork/117.shtml

What do you think?

Follow Music Well – Dosia McKay, Composer, Painter, Writer on WordPress.com
