Music Well – Dosia McKay, Composer, Painter, Writer

Reflections on Art and Life

Cello – Love Against Reason

CelloI began to study cello in 2010 while I was in graduate school. Don’t ask me why. The timing was certainly haphazard, but I fell in love with the instrument. I discovered that you could rent it for about $50 a month and it felt like an offer I could not refuse. I began studying with a wonderful teacher in Hoboken – Paul Ognissanti.

Then after a year and a half, as I was too wrapped up in composition and production of my album of music for string quartet (coincidence? – have you listened to the heart-wrenching cello solos?), I needed to return the rented instrument.

Fast forward two years, and I am still obsessing over the cello, remembering how it felt to hold it and how happy I was learning how to play it. And so I took a big step a few days ago and bought this instrument. I am a complete and humble beginner. I am working on my intonation and proper bow grip. I hope that in a few months I can return to some Bach suites I have been attempting two years ago. Life, art, music – I hope I never stop learning.

One comment on “Cello – Love Against Reason

  1. createmusic
    December 5, 2014

    Reblogged this on I Write The Music.

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on December 4, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
Follow Music Well – Dosia McKay, Composer, Painter, Writer on WordPress.com
