Music Well – Dosia McKay, Composer, Painter, Writer

Reflections on Art and Life

Will You Come Before Winter?

Will you come before winter?
Frost silenced the mornings
The mirror of the harbor
Cracked the rays of the sun

Will you come before winter?
Fall fulfilled her waiting
Aimless days grow bolder
Stumbling in the dark

Sometimes when I’m alone in the city
I see you from afar
I catch a glimpse of your eyes
Sifting through the crowd
You’re searching for my face
I wave at you and smile

That’s when your hair
Dances in the wind
And it wraps around mine
Your colorful feathers
Brush against my thighs
And then you fade away

Will you come before springtime?
The air sprouts a fragrance
Of water, earth, and life
Currents of fate shifting

Will you come before springtime?
Winter shed her yearning
Night released her strife
Fervid memories drifting

Sometimes when I’m alone in the city
I see you from afar
You open up your arms
You’re reaching back through time
You weave yourself about me
You spin me like a yarn

That’s when I believe
I would have waited twice as long
Knowing that you wanted
What we’ve used to have before
You whisper in my ear
And then you disappear

©2010 Dosia McKay

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on April 14, 2010 by in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
Follow Music Well – Dosia McKay, Composer, Painter, Writer on WordPress.com
