Music Well – Dosia McKay, Composer, Painter, Writer

Reflections on Art and Life

Christmas Archangel

Small talk potluck smiles
Clench my jaws tight
Just like stage fright
An hour of social delight

In a less-traveled corner
My weathered friend
I finally gird myself
With long laces
Of furry boots

Where are you going?
You ask with sorrow
A three-year-old
Wingless
Christmas archangel
With unclouded eyes

I’m going home
Is all
I hear myself say
Wishing
I could stay and tell you
I don’t really know

©2010 Dosia McKay

One comment on “Christmas Archangel

  1. kseverny
    January 2, 2010

    this is a beautiful poem

What do you think?

Follow Music Well – Dosia McKay, Composer, Painter, Writer on WordPress.com
