Music Well – Dosia McKay, Composer, Painter, Writer

Reflections on Art and Life

Epiphanies – Artwork and Music Combined

I thought I would experiment with combining my abstract painting with music. The video features 10 of my paintings and the soundtrack is one of my electronic compositions entitled Thousands of Tears.

©2008 Dosia McKay

4 comments on “Epiphanies – Artwork and Music Combined

  1. Victoria
    March 24, 2008

    Hi Dosia,

    My now ex-boyfriend and I bought one of your pictures a while back…Blossom. It is beautiful, and I take time out every day to look at it. I love looking at this picture. I plan to buy more pictures in the future.

    I am very bored in the wee hours of the morning, and stumbled across this video and this website. You are a truly gifted person. So talented in so many ways. Music is my life. I sing, but do not play an instrument. I can still appreciate classical compositions, and I think that “Thousands of Tears” is one of the most beautiful songs I have ever heard. This song is truly relaxing, and helps me to meditate on life.

    Thank you for all of your beautiful creations whether they be art, music, or writing. Again, you are truly gifted and amazingly talented. Don’t take it for granted. As a 24 year old who has sung all her life and wears hearing aids, I will never take music for granted, as I could lose my hearing (and ability to sing) at any time. Music does so many wonderful things for so many people, and I truly thank you for your contribution!

  2. Dosia McKay
    March 24, 2008

    Dear Victoria, thank you for these uplifting and encouraging words. Yes, art is indeed a gift to those who create and to those who receive it. It is so easy to take it for granted, as if it depended on us, as if we were the masters and owners of it, but it is so fleeting. Your note reminded me that we are not guaranteed tomorrow. Thank you for your unique perspective.

  3. jpde
    March 28, 2008

    Very nice video. I think that music and painting are two faces of an interior necessity of creating. Kandinsky was also a musican and a great painter. He painted like a musician composer.
    I like your music, very sensitive.

    JP

  4. iwka
    April 18, 2008

    Dosia, a jak ty to, kurka wodna, malujesz? 🙂

What do you think?

Follow Music Well – Dosia McKay, Composer, Painter, Writer on WordPress.com
