Music Well – Dosia McKay, Composer, Painter, Writer

Reflections on Art and Life

Emerging

All my days have been written
In your book
Before any came to be
And then you gave me
The chisel and a hammer
To carve them out
From the silence of a boulder

I am weighed down
By the gravel in my pockets
Dust mingles with sweat
I can no longer see
Or hear anything
But the incessant clashes
Of dull metal against my bones

Oh, what I would do
For a gentle rain
Not for my arid throat
Or calloused fingers
But to wash over the stone
So I can look
For signs of hope
Of a shape
Emerging

©2008 Dosia McKay

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on March 15, 2008 by in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
Follow Music Well – Dosia McKay, Composer, Painter, Writer on WordPress.com
