Music Well – Dosia McKay, Composer, Painter, Writer

Reflections on Art and Life

A Winter Night

This bright-eyed morning
I was passing by familiar strangers
Clutching the remnants of warmth
When suddenly I saw her
Walking straight toward me
In a black designer coat
She swayed her hips
Too buoyantly
For that time of day

From behind the furry fringes
Of a hollow hood
Her purple eyes locked on mine
In a piercing embrace
It would have been my time
Except
She was temporarily
Engaged elsewhere
Breaking the ice
Over the cell phone
With a toothless smile
Her next client no doubt
Lady Death prancing around

So she kept on walking
But the hem of her dress
Carried by the entourage
Of polar winds
Brushed against my side
And left me bruised
Shattered and frostbitten

I am suspended
Between northern lights
And the eternal Winter
If I glide my hands
Over the smooth icing of the sheets
It is because I want to know
Whether I am still here
On this side of the mirror
Among those who can still
Hope for a thawing

Pristine droplets
Slide down melting icicles
To herald each and every second
That was stolen from me
Time is running out
Time is skating without me

A light-forsaken night
Stay on guard
Keep watch over me
At shivery midnight
Your breath vapor
Will let me know
That I am not alone

©2008 Dosia McKay

One comment on “A Winter Night

  1. J Alan
    March 1, 2008

    I love this poem, and it’s your very best to date….
    In my humble opinion.

    You are very gifted with words as well as your eyes and hands…..

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on February 24, 2008 by in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
Follow Music Well – Dosia McKay, Composer, Painter, Writer on WordPress.com
