Music Well – Dosia McKay, Composer, Painter, Writer

Reflections on Art and Life

Loneliness

I am looking at you
You are looking at me
But we don’t see each other

You are a moving target
And I am not sure
If I am aiming in your direction

I hold your hand
You rest your head on my shoulder
And I can’t feel your touch

You open your mouth
I nod and smile
But I can no more hear you
Than you can feel my heartbeat

The music playing in the background
Has drifted to the foreground
And flooded the crevices
Of my forlorn soul

To remind me once more
That all I really want
Is to know someone
And to be known in return

But you are reading me
Like a newspaper article
About the price of tomatoes

Tomorrow the stars
Will be aligned differently
And you will not remember
How to spell my name

And I will continue to cry out
Without uttering a sound

©2008 Dosia McKay

3 comments on “Loneliness

  1. cfrancine27
    February 9, 2008

    What a beautiful poem. We just want to be known and cannot completely.

  2. m6fan
    February 10, 2008

    Such a sad and melancholy poem……

    of unrequited love

    Both pensive and beautiful at once.

  3. bindo
    June 10, 2009

    I dig the emptiness that you paint here, hollow and almost despicable; reading someone like a newspaper ad, familiar, discarded…Yass, all in the name of a dying love. Pain is the muse.

    Awesome work

    Bindo

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on February 9, 2008 by in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
Follow Music Well – Dosia McKay, Composer, Painter, Writer on WordPress.com
