Music Well – Dosia McKay, Composer, Painter, Writer

Reflections on Art and Life

Beautiful is the Mention of Your Name

Beautiful is the mention of your name
Lovely is the shape of its sounds
But were it not for the language
My lips would call upon it still
With velvety timbres of golden sunrises
And soft whispers of hisses and shimmers

With every breath the muse soars
On swirling currents of warm air
The fingers tremble and thirst
For a touch of the sacred mystery
A glimpse of your longing
That fills my breast
From beyond the grave
And springs up life and desire

Say not that you love me
For love is a torment of poets
But shelter me under the weeping arches
That you may weep through me
And wrap me in strings of pearl butterflies
That I might unravel your passion

Fill me to overflowing
Play me to overfilling
Beautiful is the mention of your name
Karl Philipp Emanuel



For Shelley Binder in celebration of her love for Karl Philipp Emanuel Bach, and in particular his Sonata in A minor for flute solo.

©2008 Dosia McKay

2 comments on “Beautiful is the Mention of Your Name

  1. m6fan
    January 31, 2008

    Infatuation…………beautiful and so vibrant!

  2. nomarionette
    July 31, 2008

    nice. i love it.

What do you think?

Follow Music Well – Dosia McKay, Composer, Painter, Writer on WordPress.com
